- CHRC here means Certified in Healthcare Research Compliance, issued by the Compliance Certification Board (CCB) and promoted by HCCA.
- HCCA states no official exam study guide exists; Research Academies are not exam-preparation classes.
- The exam has 120 questions in two hours: 100 scored and 20 unscored pretest items.
- Monitoring, Auditing, and Internal Reporting Systems carries 20%, the heaviest weight, followed by Communication, Education, and Training at 18%.
CHRC Training: What Healthcare Research Compliance Candidates Actually Need to Learn
- What "CHRC Training" Really Means
- No Official Study Guide: What HCCA Does Provide
- The Seven-Domain Curriculum
- Research-Specific Topics to Master
- Training Hours That Count Toward Eligibility
- Exam Format and Registration Costs
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- How to Evaluate Third-Party Training
- Training Obligations After You Pass
- Frequently Asked Questions
Key Takeaways
- CHRC here means Certified in Healthcare Research Compliance, issued by the Compliance Certification Board (CCB) and promoted by HCCA.
- HCCA states no official exam study guide exists; Research Academies are not exam-preparation classes.
- The exam has 120 questions in two hours: 100 scored and 20 unscored pretest items.
- Monitoring, Auditing, and Internal Reporting Systems carries 20%, the heaviest weight, followed by Communication, Education, and Training at 18%.
- Eligibility requires 20 CCB-approved CEUs (at least 10 live) in the 12 months before the exam.
What "CHRC Training" Really Means
Search results for "CHRC training" mix several different things: continuing education that qualifies you to sit for the exam, self-directed preparation for the exam itself, and the ongoing education required to keep the credential. This article covers all three for one credential only: the Certified in Healthcare Research Compliance (CHRC) designation, administered by the independent Compliance Certification Board (CCB) with HCCA as the governing body. If you landed here looking for a human-resources credential or a cardiac-rehabilitation designation that shares the acronym, those are unrelated. For a plain-language orientation, see What Is CHRC Certification? and What Does CHRC Stand For?.
The distinction matters because training for this credential is not one product. Some of it is mandatory (continuing education units that make you eligible), some is optional (practice questions and independent study aids), and some is recurring (CEUs to renew). Treating them as a single "course" is the most common planning mistake.
No Official Study Guide: What HCCA Does Provide
HCCA states plainly that no official exam study guide is available. That shapes how you should build a training plan. What the issuer does offer:
- The Detailed Content Outline (DCO): the authoritative list of what is tested, organized by seven domains. Printed pages 22-24 of the CHRC Candidate Handbook contain it, and HCCA hosts a dedicated outline landing page.
- The Candidate Handbook: eligibility, fees, testing rules, and renewal terms.
- A public sample question set and a candidate-only 50-question practice exam.
Because the DCO is the only official blueprint, every credible training plan should map back to it. The older archived "CHR" candidate handbook uses a different blueprint and should not be used to scope your study. Our CHRC study guide turns the current outline into a working plan.
The Seven-Domain Curriculum
The percentages below equal the DCO's published item counts out of the 100 scored questions. The weighting should drive how many training hours each area gets. For deeper treatment of each area, read CHRC Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
| Domain | Weight | Training emphasis |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Standards, Policies, and Procedures | 17% | Regulatory sources and how they become written institutional policy |
| 2. Compliance Program Administration | 15% | Program structure, oversight, resources, and accountability |
| 3. Screening and Evaluation of Researchers, Employees, Physicians, Sponsors, Vendors, Contractors, and Others | 8% | Exclusion checks, conflicts, and vetting of research relationships |
| 4. Communication, Education, and Training | 18% | Designing and delivering research-compliance education; communication channels |
| 5. Monitoring, Auditing, and Internal Reporting Systems | 20% | Audit design, risk-based monitoring, hotlines, and reporting workflows |
| 6. Enforcement, Discipline, and Incentives | 8% | Consistent discipline and positive reinforcement of compliant behavior |
| 7. Investigations and Remedial Measures | 14% | Responding to allegations, root cause analysis, corrective action |
Where candidates under-invest
Domain 3 and Domain 6 each carry only 8%, so they are tempting to skim. At 8 scored items apiece, though, they are meaningful, and they are often the most conceptually straightforward points to collect. Domain 4 (18%) is the other common blind spot: it tests whether you can structure education and communication for researchers, not merely recite that training is required.
Research-Specific Topics to Master
This is not a general compliance exam with the word "research" added. The content outline draws on the oversight landscape specific to human-subjects and funded research. Training should build working familiarity with:
Agency roles and jurisdiction
The DCO names FDA, USDA, ORI, OCR, and OHRP. Know what each one regulates, what triggers its involvement, and which reports go where. NIH is an issuer-recommended preparation resource rather than a separately weighted domain, but its grants policy is still useful background.
- FDA: clinical investigations of drugs, devices, and biologics
- OHRP: protection of human subjects in federally supported research
- ORI: research misconduct in Public Health Service-funded research
- OCR: privacy and HIPAA enforcement as it touches research data
- USDA: animal welfare in research settings
Research billing and coverage analysis
Determining which study-related services are billable to payers versus the sponsor, and documenting that decision, is a classic scenario area. Practice reasoning through who pays for what and how errors are detected and corrected.
Grants, conflicts, and misconduct
Expect scenarios on effort reporting, allowable costs, financial conflicts of interest, and the difference between honest error and misconduct. The exam favors the compliance professional's correct next action over memorized definitions.
Because questions are application-style, passive reading underperforms. Work from short scenarios and, for each, ask which regulation governs, who must be notified, and what corrective action is proportionate. For a sense of how hard that reasoning feels in practice, see How Hard Is the CHRC Exam?.
Training Hours That Count Toward Eligibility
Here the word "training" has a precise meaning. To sit for the exam you need both experience and documented education:
- Work experience: one year in a full-time compliance position, or 1,500 hours of direct compliance duties in the two years before applying, with duties related to the DCO.
- CEUs: 20 CCB-approved CEUs earned in the 12 months before the exam, at least 10 of them live.
An accredited-university pathway can satisfy the work-experience requirement for 24 months and the CEU requirement for 12 months, according to the current FAQ and support article. After the first 12 months, those sources call for 20 new CCB CEUs including 10 live, while the handbook wording instead tells graduates to sit within 12 months. That discrepancy is unresolved in the issuer's own materials, so confirm your situation directly with CCB before relying on the pathway. No separate degree or reference requirement was verified.
Exam Format and Registration Costs
Training should mirror the test you will actually take.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Questions | 120 multiple choice: 100 scored plus 20 unidentified unscored pretest items |
| Time | Two hours |
| Language | English only |
| Provider and delivery | PSI: test-center computer, remote proctoring, or paper-and-pencil at selected HCCA/SCCE events |
| Book policy | Closed book; reference materials and personal electronic devices restricted |
| Passing standard | Angoff-established standard on scored questions; fixed numerical cut score not publicly verified |
| Initial exam fee (current) | $350 HCCA/SCCE member; $450 non-member |
| Eligible re-exam | $75 |
| Announced fee from Jan. 1, 2027 | $375 member; $475 non-member (future rate, not a current price) |
Two practical notes. First, you cannot tell which 20 items are unscored, so treat every question as if it counts. Second, the published pass rate is not disclosed in the official materials located, so be skeptical of any vendor quoting one; our CHRC pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said. For how the passing standard works, see CHRC Passing Score, and for the full cost picture including renewal, see CHRC Certification Cost. Scheduling windows are covered in CHRC Exam Dates.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
You do not need a generic template here, only a defensible order. Start with the heaviest and most foundational domains, and save the narrow ones for consolidation.
Standards and program structure
- Domain 1 (17%) first, because policies encode every regulation tested elsewhere
- Domain 2 (15%) to understand who owns what in a research compliance program
The two heaviest operational domains
- Domain 5 (20%): audit planning, monitoring, hotlines, reporting systems
- Domain 4 (18%): education design and communication channels
Response and consequences
- Domain 7 (14%): investigations, root cause, remedial measures
- Domain 6 (8%): discipline and incentives, taken immediately after investigations so the logic connects
Screening and full-length practice
- Domain 3 (8%): screening and evaluation of the full list of parties
- Timed mixed sets under two-hour conditions; review every miss against the DCO
The order is not arbitrary: policies first, then the monitoring and training machinery that enforces them, then what happens when something goes wrong. Adjust the length to your background; a research administrator may compress Domain 2, while someone from a clinical-operations role may need more time on agency roles. A faster reference for last-week review is the CHRC cheat sheet, and you can pressure-test your readiness on the CHRC practice test.
How to Evaluate Third-Party Training
Since there is no official guide, a market of independent aids has filled the gap: free question pages, paid question banks, user-uploaded documents, and informational guides. Judge any of them against the issuer's facts:
- Does it distinguish 120 total questions from 100 scored plus 20 pretest? Materials that blur this are not tracking the current handbook.
- Does it use the full domain names? Shortened headings (for example, dropping "Internal Reporting Systems") can hide what is actually tested.
- Are fees current? Current initial fees are $350/$450; anything older or newer is outdated or a future rate.
- Does it claim a specific pass percentage or "scaled score"? Issuer material describes an Angoff-established standard on scored questions, and no fixed numeric cut score was publicly verified.
- Does it explain wrong answers? Rationales for every distractor teach the reasoning the exam rewards; a bare answer key does not.
Key Takeaway
Treat every independent resource as a supplement to the Detailed Content Outline, never a replacement. If a source cannot be traced to the DCO or to HCCA/CCB pages, discount its claims, especially volume claims and success rates.
Training Obligations After You Pass
The credential is valid for two years. Renewal requires 40 CCB CEUs earned within the renewal period, at least 20 of them live, plus an application, attestations, and a renewal fee of $145 for members or $265 for non-members. Announced renewal fees rise to $155/$275 from January 1, 2027. CEUs used for the initial exam, and any excess earned during a renewal period, do not carry forward.
That makes continuing education a standing line item, not a one-time hurdle. Employers who hire for research compliance roles, typically academic medical centers, health systems with research enterprises, and similar institutions, look for demonstrated currency as much as the credential itself. For role-market context, see CHRC Jobs. On earnings and return, note that a CHRC-specific salary premium has not been verified; read CHRC Salary Guide and Is the CHRC Certification Worth It? for a careful treatment rather than borrowed figures.
Frequently Asked Questions
HCCA states that no official exam study guide is available. It provides the Detailed Content Outline, the Candidate Handbook, a public sample question set, and a candidate-only 50-question practice exam. Research Academies are professional education, not exam-preparation classes.
For eligibility you need 20 CCB-approved CEUs in the 12 months before the exam, with at least 10 live, plus the required compliance work experience. The amount of self-study beyond that depends on your background and is not specified by the issuer.
Monitoring, Auditing, and Internal Reporting Systems is weighted highest at 20%, followed by Communication, Education, and Training at 18% and Standards, Policies, and Procedures at 17%. Weight your hours accordingly while still covering the 8% domains.
No. The exam is closed book, with reference materials and personal electronic devices restricted under delivery-specific proctoring rules, and the remote-testing FAQ expressly prohibits handheld calculators. Plan to reason through questions without aids.
Yes. Renewal every two years requires 40 CCB CEUs earned in that period, at least 20 of them live, along with an application, attestations, and the renewal fee. Unused CEUs do not carry into the next period.