- What the Issuer Actually Publishes About Pass Rates
- Why There Is No Honest Percentage to Quote
- How Passing Is Decided: The Angoff Standard
- The Exam Format Behind the Statistic
- Reading Vendor and Competitor Claims Critically
- Using Domain Weights as Your Real Readiness Data
- Who Sits for the Exam and Why That Shapes Outcomes
- A Domain-Weighted Readiness Sequence
- Logistics That Affect Your First-Attempt Odds
- Frequently Asked Questions
- HCCA and the CCB do not publish a CHRC pass rate in any official material we located.
- Passing is set by an Angoff-established standard on 100 scored questions; no fixed cut score is publicly verified.
- The exam has 120 multiple-choice questions in two hours, including 20 unscored pretest items.
- Monitoring, Auditing, and Internal Reporting Systems carries 20% of scored items, the largest single domain.
What the Issuer Actually Publishes About Pass Rates
Anyone searching for a CHRC pass rate wants a single reassuring percentage. The honest answer is that the issuer does not provide one. The Certified in Healthcare Research Compliance (CHRC) credential is administered by the independent Compliance Certification Board (CCB) in connection with the Health Care Compliance Association (HCCA), and in the official materials we located, including the candidate handbook, the exam information page and the FAQ, no pass-rate statistic appears.
That matters because the web is full of numbers that look authoritative. Some come from vendors selling question banks, some from user-uploaded documents, and some from generic career guides that summarize other people's summaries. If a page quotes a precise CHRC pass percentage without citing a CCB or HCCA document, treat it as unverified. This article takes a different approach: it separates what is published, what is not, and what you can still do with the information that is available.
Why There Is No Honest Percentage to Quote
Several things prevent a trustworthy figure from circulating, and understanding them protects you from bad data.
- The issuer has not disclosed it. The official overview, exam information and handbook pages describe eligibility, content and logistics but not outcomes.
- Vendors have an incentive problem. A prep provider that advertises a "success rate" is describing its own customers, a self-selected group, not all candidates.
- Practice-test scores are not pass rates. Your performance on a third-party bank tells you about that bank's difficulty and your preparation, not about the real exam's population statistics.
- The credential population is small and specialized. Research compliance is a narrower field than general healthcare compliance, so informal anecdotes from forums are thin evidence.
For a deeper look at how difficult candidates report the exam to be, and how to interpret that feedback without over-weighting it, read How Hard Is the CHRC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. For the numeric side of passing, CHRC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass covers what is and is not verified.
How Passing Is Decided: The Angoff Standard
The published passing criterion is an Angoff-established standard applied to the scored questions. In an Angoff process, subject-matter experts judge how a minimally qualified candidate would be expected to perform on each item, and those judgments are aggregated into a passing standard. Two consequences follow.
- The bar is criterion-referenced. You are measured against a defined competence standard, not against other test takers. There is no curve in which a fixed share of candidates must fail.
- The cut score can differ by exam form. Because the standard is set through item-level judgments, a fixed numerical cut score was not publicly verified, and we do not state one.
A related caution: some user-uploaded study documents and older competitor guides have cited a 70% pass mark. That figure was a historical competitor observation, it is not a verified CHRC exam fact, and the current version of the competitor guide in question no longer displays it. Do not plan your preparation around a round-number percentage the issuer has not published.
The Exam Format Behind the Statistic
Whatever the true pass rate is, it is produced by a specific test design. Knowing that design is more useful than chasing a percentage.
| Feature | CHRC Detail |
|---|---|
| Question type | Multiple choice; number of answer options per item not verified for the current handbook |
| Total questions | 120 |
| Scored questions | 100 |
| Unscored pretest questions | 20, not identified to the candidate |
| Time allowed | Two hours |
| Language | English only |
| Delivery | PSI test center, PSI remote proctoring, or paper-and-pencil at selected HCCA/SCCE events |
| Reference materials | Closed book; materials and personal electronic devices restricted under delivery-specific rules |
| Passing criterion | Angoff-established standard on scored questions |
The pretest detail changes how you should behave in the exam room. Because 20 of the 120 items do not count and are not labeled, you cannot safely "write off" a hard question as unscored. Treat every item as live. At two hours for 120 items, you have roughly a minute per question, which rewards candidates who can recognize a regulatory scenario quickly rather than reason from scratch.
Percentages in the content outline equal the published item counts out of the 100 scored questions, so the weights below are directly interpretable as the number of scored items per domain.
Reading Vendor and Competitor Claims Critically
We reviewed the public CHRC pages of several prep providers and information sites. The pattern is instructive for anyone trying to evaluate "pass rate" or "success rate" language.
- Dedicated question-bank sites advertise large banks, mastery labels and practice formats. The paid scope sits behind a login, so the breadth and quality of the questions cannot be verified from the public page.
- Free-question pages can be useful, but check whether they correctly state the 120-total, 100-scored, 20-pretest structure and the current fee. One such page does state the structure correctly while using scaled-score wording we do not adopt.
- Informational guides sometimes summarize facts from third parties because the primary sources are hard to open. One guide explicitly says so, and it still lists older initial-exam fees that conflict with the current $350 member and $450 non-member amounts.
- User-uploaded exam listings carry year metadata but no accountability for accuracy, and their contents are not retrievable without purchase.
Key Takeaway
Use a three-part test on any number you find: Is it from the CCB or HCCA? Is it dated? Does it match the structure of 120 questions, 100 scored, two hours? If the answer to any is no, treat the figure as marketing rather than evidence.
HCCA itself states that no official exam study guide is available. Its public sample questions and a candidate-only 50-question practice exam are the closest official preparation resources, and the Research Academies are not exam-preparation classes. That context explains why independent resources proliferate and why their claims vary so much. Our own CHRC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt maps independent preparation to the official outline.
Using Domain Weights as Your Real Readiness Data
If a pass rate is unavailable, the most defensible quantitative information you have is the content outline. The seven domains and their weights tell you where the scored items concentrate.
Domain 5: Monitoring, Auditing, and Internal Reporting Systems (20%)
The heaviest domain. Expect scenarios about designing and acting on audits and monitoring, and about how internal reporting channels feed corrective action.
- Research billing and coverage analysis decisions
- Audit scoping, findings and follow-up
- Reporting mechanisms and how reports are triaged
Domain 4: Communication, Education, and Training (18%)
The second-largest domain. Questions test how a research compliance program informs and trains investigators and staff.
- Who needs training and on what topics
- Communicating policy changes and expectations
- Documenting education for oversight purposes
Domain 1: Standards, Policies, and Procedures (17%)
The regulatory backbone. This is where agency roles surface, including FDA, USDA, ORI, OCR and OHRP as named in the outline.
- Which agency's rule governs a given scenario
- Translating regulation into institutional policy
Domain 2: Compliance Program Administration (15%)
Program structure and oversight. Think program governance, resources and how a compliance function operates within a research institution.
Domain 7: Investigations and Remedial Measures (14%)
What happens after a problem is identified: investigation process, root cause and corrective or remedial action.
Domains 3 and 6 (8% each)
Screening and Evaluation of Researchers, Employees, Physicians, Sponsors, Vendors, Contractors, and Others, and Enforcement, Discipline, and Incentives. Smaller, but together they account for 16 scored items, enough to decide a borderline result.
Notice that NIH is an issuer-recommended preparation resource rather than a separately weighted domain. For a complete walk through each area, see CHRC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
Who Sits for the Exam and Why That Shapes Outcomes
You cannot sit for the CHRC cold. The eligibility rules effectively pre-filter the candidate pool, which is one reason a raw pass rate would be hard to compare with an open-enrollment exam.
- Work experience: one year in a full-time compliance position, or 1,500 hours of direct compliance duties in the two years before application, with duties related to the content outline.
- Continuing education: 20 CCB-approved CEUs in the 12 months before the exam, with at least 10 live.
- University pathway: an accredited-university pathway can fulfill the work-experience requirement for 24 months and the CEU requirement for 12 months under the current FAQ and support article.
One caution on that pathway: the FAQ-related sources and the handbook wording differ for graduates beyond month 12. The support sources call for 20 new CEUs including 10 live after the first 12 months, while the handbook wording tells graduates to sit within 12 months. That conflict is unresolved, so confirm your own situation directly with the CCB before relying on it. Full eligibility detail is in CHRC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
The practical implication is that candidates are already working in or near research compliance. They bring real exposure to the domains, which is probably why the issuer designs scenario-style items around judgment rather than pure recall. It also means that "I work in compliance" alone does not guarantee comfort with research-specific topics such as sponsor and vendor screening or research billing analysis.
A Domain-Weighted Readiness Sequence
Rather than a generic schedule, sequence your preparation by weight and by dependency. Standards come first because every other domain assumes you know which rule applies; the heavy monitoring domain comes next while you still have time to repeat it.
Standards and Program Administration
- Domain 1 (17%) and Domain 2 (15%): agency roles and program structure
- Build a one-page map of FDA, USDA, ORI, OCR and OHRP responsibilities
Monitoring, Auditing, and Reporting
- Domain 5 (20%): work audit and billing-coverage scenarios
- Review the linked guidance on research billing coverage analysis
Communication, Screening, and Enforcement
- Domain 4 (18%), Domain 3 (8%) and Domain 6 (8%)
Investigations and Full-Length Practice
- Domain 7 (14%) and two timed 120-question sessions
- Review every missed item by domain, not just by score
Use your practice results to find domain-level weakness. A single overall percentage hides the fact that a 20% domain you are shaky on costs far more than an 8% domain you skipped. You can drill each area on our CHRC practice test and then compare your pattern against the structure above. A condensed reference for the final days is the CHRC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.
Logistics That Affect Your First-Attempt Odds
Pass or fail is not only about knowledge. Registration mechanics and testing conditions influence outcomes at the margin.
| Item | Current Figure |
|---|---|
| Initial exam fee, member | $350 |
| Initial exam fee, non-member | $450 |
| Eligible re-exam | $75 |
| Announced fees from January 1, 2027 | $375 member / $475 non-member (future rates, not current prices) |
| Certification validity | Two years |
| Renewal CEUs | 40 CCB CEUs, at least 20 live |
| Renewal fee | $145 member / $265 non-member |
The fee page also lists a $75 non-refundable application amount, but no additional $75 is added to the published initial totals. Older indexed handbook text shows $125 and $245 renewal fees; the current fee and FAQ pages take precedence. If you are timing your application around the January 2027 increase, the cost difference is modest but real, and our CHRC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown works through the totals. Scheduling windows are covered in CHRC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Delivery choice matters too. PSI offers test-center and remote proctoring, and selected HCCA/SCCE events offer paper-and-pencil sittings. Remote testing carries strict rules, and the remote-testing FAQ expressly prohibits handheld calculators. Whether an on-screen calculator is provided was not verified, so do not assume one. Read the delivery-specific rules for your chosen format well before test day so that a preventable compliance problem does not disrupt a two-hour exam.
On the career side, a published pass rate would not tell you whether the credential pays off. A CHRC-specific salary premium was not verified, and the 2026 Healthcare Compliance Compensation Survey covers the profession broadly. For a careful treatment, see CHRC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the CHRC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
It is not publicly disclosed in the official HCCA and CCB materials we located. Any specific percentage you see online without a CCB or HCCA citation should be treated as unverified. For the verified side of scoring, see our CHRC pass rate overview and the passing-score article.
The passing criterion is an Angoff-established standard based on the 100 scored questions. A fixed numerical cut score was not publicly verified, so no exact number of correct answers can be responsibly stated.
No. The exam has 120 questions, of which 100 are scored and 20 are unscored pretest items. They are not identified, so you should answer every question carefully.
Yes. Eligible re-exams cost $75. Confirm current eligibility and any waiting rules directly with the CCB and HCCA before scheduling.
HCCA states that no official exam study guide is available. Public sample questions and a candidate-only 50-question practice exam exist, and independent materials fill the rest. Research Academies are not exam-preparation classes.
The most useful reframing is this: stop looking for a pass rate and start measuring your readiness against the seven weighted domains. The issuer has told you exactly where the 100 scored items sit, and that is the data worth acting on. For orientation on the credential itself, start with CHRC Certification, and when you are ready to test yourself, begin on the main practice site.